Rollin’ in the dough.

Hah. I wish.

Anywho.

I have a weird husband. I’ve talked about him.

Kyle..ugh. He will eat raw BREAD dough if you let him. He thinks it’s delicious. I think it’s disgusting.

As far as cookie dough is concerned, I can see his way of thinking. I think cookie dough is delicious, but I hate any of us eating it because of the raw eggs. I’m not a fan of putting my family at risk.
However, there IS a way to enjoy cookie dough…
…egg free!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites
1 c. (2 sticks) butter, softened
1 1/2 c. packed brown sugar
1 1/2 – 2 c. flour (this is a judgement call)
1 tsp. vanilla
chocolate chips (again, judgement call)
Cream together the brown sugar and butter.
Add the vanilla. Then gradually add the flour. Add the first 1 1/2 c. like you typically would, but for the last 1/2 c., keep an eye on the batter. You don’t want it too sticky, but you don’t want it crumbly either, if that makes sense. It should form a ball easily.
Fold in your chocolate chips. You can use mini chips, butterscotch chips, etc. The choice is yours.
However, I’m going the typical chocolate chip route. I added about 4 handfuls.
Using a scoop, spoon, whatever, roll the dough into balls. Mine are about 1 – 1 1/2 in.
Refrigerate until they’re firm. Probably about an hour.
Then take them out. Get them loose off your tray, plate, or whatever you put them on.
I lined my tray with wax paper.
You can eat them like this, and they’re delicious.
OR, you can melt down some chocolate and have some fun.
I wanted to experiment.
I coated 5 in chocolate.
And yeah, they don’t look pretty. I completely forgot to add shortening to the chocolate to thin it out.
Then, I took some and dipped half into the chocolate.
Then, I used a fork and drizzled chocolate over the rest.
Honestly, you may want to use a baggie with the tip cut. Less messy and probably more efficient than slinging chocolate all over the place…though, the kids and I didn’t mind cleaning up the mess.
These went over QUITE well.
I jokingly asked Kyle if I should make them for Christmas this year.
I got a very enthusiastic yes.

Adapted from the recipe here.

About The Ninja

Mother, wife, pet owner, ninja.
This entry was posted in bites, chip, chocolate, chocolate chip, cookie, dessert, dough, easy, kid approved, kid friendly, simple, snack. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

