House Revamp.

When Kyle and I first bought our house, we knew it was a fixer upper. It was built in 1985, so it’s 2 years older than Kyle. It’s pretty rough, not going to sugarcoat it. There were a lot of “repairs” to the house that were done..well, badly. Example: Under our kitchen sink, the pipes were held together with wax. And they leaked. And Kyle had to replace them.

To say it’s been a headache is an understatement.

We do what when can when we can. It’s a slow process. One of the rooms I desperately wanted to get done was the upstairs bathroom because, well, everyone uses it. When I say everyone, I mean everyone. Kids, guests, us. It’s a pretty popular place.

Here’s how it looked when we first bought the house.

This picture doesn’t show you just how badly the linoleum tile on the floor was peeling up. It doesn’t show you the cracks in the sink. It doesn’t show you the chips in the bathtub. It doesn’t show you the terrible caulking around the counter. It doesn’t show you the warped wall from putting the shelf in. What I’m saying is, this picture is very misleading.

When we saw the house in person, I can’t even begin to tell you how much my heart sank. At the time, we were living in a 2 bedroom apartment that we were quickly outgrowing. Truth be told, we outgrew it before we even realized, but we made it work. But we needed a house. We got a good deal on this house. It needed work, and Kyle and I knew we could do it ourselves, but we didn’t realize just how much work it would need.

Anyway.

We’ve lived in this house for 2 years. TWO. Without doing much. Until finally enough was enough. The decision was made that the bathroom had to get done. We already had the shower curtain and stuff (all in M&Ms, hehe) and it was just a matter of getting things put together, like the paint, to make it all work.

We’ve only just painted the walls, and they’re a lime green. I can’t tell you how much that makes me smile.

We’ve still got to:
– paint the door frame and baseboards (chocolate brown)
– paint or replace the wainscoting (white)
– replace the linoleum floor (with porcelain tile, because it was cheap to get and I like cheap)
– refinish the bathtub/shower + sink/counter
– decorate

While I’m not sharing any pictures of the bathroom until it’s done completely, I’m uploading the bathroom prints that I made (yeah, I MADE THESE IN PHOTOSHOP. DON’T TAKE CREDIT FOR THEM PLZKTHNX). If you wish to print/use them, be my guest. 🙂 We wanted them to match the bathroom, but still be fun for the adults. We may have had a bit too much fun with them…

That just makes good sense. You know it.

Don’t judge me.

This can also pertain to crazy clown murderers.

❤ Phoebe Buffay.

In hindsight, I should’ve probably made on that says “So long and thanks for all the fish”…

About The Ninja

Mother, wife, pet owner, ninja.
This entry was posted in decor, decorating, decorations, decour, design, house, sign, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

