Had to kick the craving.

Ever since we went to St. Louis and ate at the hole in the wall bar, I’ve been dying for some fried pickles. And when I say that, I mean I convinced myself that I needed them.

I even talked to Kyle multiple times about the idea of us moving up there, just for the food.

Buuuut since none of my ideas were immediate fixes, I had to improvise. And I did. And I had to pat myself on the back for it.

Just so we’re clear, the photos aren’t the best. Please forgive me. I kept eating them. Faster than I could make them, honestly. And half the time I forgot I needed pictures. Myyyyyy bad.


Beer Battered Fried Pickles

Obviously, you’ll need a small jar of pickles. Chips or spears, whatever floats your boat.

Drain ’em and set them aside.

Now, you’ll need:

3/4 c. corn starch
3/4 c. flour
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. paprika
salt & pepper (to taste)
12 oz can beer (I used Budweiser)
dash or two (or..4) of hot sauce

Whisk these together to form your wet batter.

Now, you can dip your pickles into just the wet batter and then fry, but what I do is combine 2/3 + c. flour (add more as needed) and a dash of chili powder into a separate bowl. And I’ll show you why in a minute.

If you have a deep fryer, I’m sure it will make this all SO much easier. But I don’t have one. So I poured some oil into a pan, about 1/4 – 1/2 inch deep, and heated it up to a nice medium temperature.

Then I dipped the pickles into the wet batter first. And I might have gotten a little lazy…

And then did a coat of the dry flour mix. And then I fried them on either side for a few minutes or until they were a nice golden brown.

And then you end up with…

DEEEEEELICIOUSNESS.
I let them drain off on a paper towel, and then I ate them almost faster than I was making them.

OH. If you opt to NOT dip them in the dry flour mix after dipping them in the wet batter…

…they’ll look more like the pickles on the right. Still delicious. Promise.

Dip ’em in ranch and go to town! OR. Or. Mix up some ranch dressing and some of Hooters’ hot sauce. Pick the ratio you want. IT’S THE WAY THEY MAKE THEIR DIPPING SAUCE.

You’re welcome.

About The Ninja

Mother, wife, pet owner, ninja.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

