A Very Pinteresting Dinner.

I’m not gonna lie, I crack when I see food on Pinterest. And when I say crack, I mean…

“OH DEAR GOD I’M GOING TO DIE IF I DON’T GO TO THE STORE RIGHT NOW AND GET THE STUFF THAT I NEED TO MAKE THIS BECAUSE DEAR GOD THAT LOOKS DELCICIOUS.”

I might, MIGHT have a slight food problem. *sigh*

Anyway. I figured if I was going to try some recipes I find via Pinterest, I might as well do a small review on ’em, yes?

First up is this recipe for Crockpot Cube Steak and Gravy. According to the pin, you just dump everything in the crockpot and go. When you go to the site, it gives you a list of ingredients, some of them being dry onion soup and cream of mushroom soup. Now, while I like the simplicity of dumping it all in the crockpot, I have this thing inside me that makes me mix everything together. I’m convinced that it won’t taste right if I don’t.

Looks disgusting, right? But I continued on and poured it on the cube steak.

Still looks gross. I know.

The recipe says to let it “cook all day”. Now, that confused me, because my “all day” is from anywhere from 6-7am to about 7pm. Nuts, right? Well, I started it around noon, and it cooked in my crockpot for 7 hours.

While I had this cooking, I started working on this recipe for these easy, soft, buttery crescent rolls. And after a few hours, here’s what I had.

Looks amazing, right?

Okay, so fast forward my day. Kids are crazy, the husband comes home, and we all sit down for dinner.

Ate this with some roasted potatoes. Nomnom. I don’t make those potatoes enough.

Okay. So, the rolls? Those are on the effing make again list. BUT follow the directions. When I made them, I did the 16 originally first. But they looked so small, I started over and ended up making 8. And they were huge. Delicious, but huge. Throw some butter and honey on ’em and eat, eat, eat. You’ll want to. AND you need to know that, to me, they weren’t like typical store bought crescents. They weren’t flakey.

The cube steak, however, won’t be making an appearance in our house ever again. It lacked flavor. Actually, it lacked a LOT of flavor. It was dry, and the “gravy” wasn’t great, either. It was a HUGE bummer.

Overall, it wasn’t a huge fail. But there you have it.

About The Ninja

Mother, wife, pet owner, ninja.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

