Three cheers for stuff.

I posted a status the other day on my Facebook, one that I’m not budging on.

Okay. I need to get this off my chest.

1. Taking a selfie on your phone and throwing an Instagram filter on it doesn’t make you a photographer. Not in the slightest. Not at all. Claiming such is…I can’t even. Literally, I can’t even. There are no words to describe the fail in your thought process.

2. Yes, photographers are expensive. Yes, there’s probably someone that’ll do your images for cheaper. But, let’s be honest, people. Some of the photos you’re wanting to get are once in a lifetime. Newborn sessions, your wedding day, these aren’t things you can just redo in a few weeks/years if you don’t like them…well, maybe the wedding thing. Maybe. But still, are you willing to sacrifice priceless images for the sake of a $20-$50 difference (or more) by using a fauxtographer? One that makes your images look flat, dull, poorly cropped so that when you print they cut off key points, overexposed, underexposed, badly composed, etc.? 

A real photographer puts time into their art, and they’re still learning each and every day. They work and work and work, striving every single day to be better than yesterday. They look into an ample amount of things to get something right just once, if at all. They invest their money into great equipment that they learn to use correctly. They push themselves, know no boundaries, and want to give you the best possible. A fauxtographer? They pull out their point and shoot, charge you $20, throw a terrible vignette on your image and give it to you out of focus. Or, hey! They might have a DSLR! Great! But do they know how to work it? Do they know the ins and outs of that camera? Do they know how to adjust the aperture, ISO, and shutter speed to produce the best image that can possibly be done? 

*sigh* I’m not directing this to anyone in particular. I’m not trying to call anyone out. I’m just..I’m so frustrated that a new fauxtographer pops up every night, making $20/session for horrible snapshots while I keep trying to learn and push myself for better before I’ll even consider doing anything professional solo.

/end rage status.

Seriously, guys, I can’t stress this enough. I’m so over it. I couldn’t ever fathom paying $20 for newborn photos and being so let down. Ever. My kids are so much older now, and I almost regret starting later with the photography learning.

That being said, I felt like I’d be a hypocrite posting a status like that without getting my own ball rolling. So, my loving, supportive, caring, amazing husband gave me an early Christmas gift.

This is the Intuos Creative Pen Tablet by Wacom. I first heard about these on the A Beautiful Mess blog. Elsie uses it there to add handwriting onto her photos. I love that idea, but what I love more is the control it gives.

I’m now able to pin point almost exactly where I want the edits to the photos I want. I can use this in my Photoshop program and do whatever! Isn’t that great!

Unfortunately, there’s somewhat of a learning curve to this thing, and I’m pretty much sucky with it right now. But, hey! More of a reason to get out there and practice, huh?

I love it so far. But what I love the most about it is that my husband got it for me. My husband is so beyond supportive in this. God, how did I get to be so lucky?

About The Ninja

Mother, wife, pet owner, ninja.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

